Tags

, , , , , ,

Seedlings on my potting shed window (May, 2013).

Seedlings on my potting shed window (May, 2013).

“2013 will be the year of the PEPPER!” – My neighbor, Jeff.

In previous years, the majority of my plants were purchased from Cross Country Nurseries or other local farms.  This year, thanks to very generous chile-heads, I was able to score dozens of cool pepper seeds through seed exchanges and personal favors.  I fashioned a sweet adjustable grow light stand and started about 30 varieties from seed, successfully.  For Last year’s growlist, click here.  All plants will be grown in containers.  I’m not even bothering with tomatoes this year, just peppers and herbs.

2013-06-04 17.18.10

A Proud Marconi Sweet Italian Frying Pepper

2013-06-04 17.28.17

A Bold Jumping Spider protects my plants from stink bugs

Here’s the Official Growlist for Summer of 2013:

  • Small Vietnamese
  • Hinkelhatz
  • Brazilian Starfish
  • Chintexle
  • Datil Sweet
  • Chiltepin Fort Prescott
  • Assam
  • Jalapeno Early
  • Peter Orange
  • Cantina Yellow
  • Vanero
  • Marconi Golden
  • Amarillear
  • Chimayo
  • Hussli Beaver Dam
  • Habanero Golden
  • Aji Cito
  • Senegal
  • Mustard Habanero
  • 7 Pot Douglah
  • Cabai Burong
  • 7 Pot Primo
  • Besler’s Cherry
  • Piment D’Esplette
  • Quadrato d’Asti Giallo
  • Fish
  • Aji Chinchi Amarillo
  • Hot Paper Lantern
  • Serrano Tampiqueno
  • Beni Highlands
  • Carolina Reaper
  • Ho Chi Minh
  • 7 Pot Brain Strain
  • Hussli Hybrid
  • Takanotsume
  • Peach Bhut Jolokia
  • Peach Habanero
  • Guyana Tiger Teeth
  • Jimmy Nardello
  • Red Datil
  • Peruvian Serlano
  • Prairie Fire
  • Poinsettia

I’ll keep you posted with garden updates, tips and recipes at PEPPERMEISTER!

I’m looking forward to hearing about how your plants are doing.  While I eagerly await your updates, please check out these spicy thighs over at Rachel’s Table.

