Tags

, , , , , , ,

A jug of death.

Let’s slaughter some bugs, organically.

I bought a bottle of Concern Insect Killing Soap at the beginning of the season.  The bottle was about $20 for 24 oz and because its concentrated and I’m cheap, I had this bottle for a long time.  I just mix a spoonful of this soap in a spray bottle with water and spray down the leaves, fruit and especially stems.  I spray down my plants at least once a week, and definitely after a hard rain.  Because this stuff is very biodegradable and harmless to your plants and soil, feel free to go on a murderous rampage whenever you feel inclined.

I buy my insecticidal soap from Cross Country Nurseries, they have both concentrated and ready to spray bottles.

If you want something to use today, and this fancy organic soap is inaccessible to you, try Seventh Generation Dish Soap, which is all natural and available at most major grocery stores.  The variety I use has lemongrass and clementine zest, which makes it both hip and fancy.  Just mix 1 teaspoon of this soap in a spray bottle with water and warn your invading insects about the incoming carnage.

Doing dishes = boring. Ending the lives of thousands of insects = family fun.

Aphids are a big problem for pepper gardeners.  Believe it or not, aphids are just pawns in the war against ants.  Ants carry aphids over to your pepper plant, give them a boost up the stem and let the aphids suckle on your hard work.  When the aphids are plump with sap they descend back down from the plant where they are met by the lazy conniving ants who creepily milk the sap from the aphids, pat them on their aphid asses and send them on their aphid way.  If you want to stop the aphids, you have to stop the ants.

