Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Yes, they are as good as they look.

If you’re looking for a prolific mid season habanero type pepper, the Limo chile is a great choice.  Not to be confused with the slender Aji Limon, which is also from Peru, the Limo chile is a blunt shaped fruit that grows to about 2 inches long and 1 1/2 inches wide.   The thin walls of the Limo make it great for drying. As an heirloom variety, I will surely be saving the seeds from these chiles for next year’s garden.

Don't tell my other plants, but I think the Limo is my favorite.

Growing

I purchased just one Limo chile plant this spring at Cross Country Nurseries in Stockton, NJ.  This plant produced many blunt green pods by early July.  Bright yellow fruits started to appear in mid August and by early September this plant was loaded with ripe fully grown chiles.  I have this plant in a 5 gallon recycled bucket filled with my own organic potting mix and fertilized twice a month with either organic beet extract or a blood meal/compost blend.  I also treat the plant with an Epsom salt solution on alternate weeks.  I’ve picked 42 yellow beauties from this plant and I estimate another wave of about 35-40 before the season’s end.

Cooking with the Limo chile

I was quite surprised with the versatility of this pepper.  The slight citrus flavor and great levels of heat make this an ideal addition to marinades.  The prolific nature of the plant means that you’ll have plenty for homemade hot sauce and salsas.  I personally don’t eat sea creatures, but something tells me this would be great with any fish.  I’ve chopped up this pepper and added it to a variety of meals but my favorite use is to incorporate the Limo into potato dishes.  I’ve made breakfast hash browns with the Limo chile as well as some NJ style Italian fried potatoes, sweet peppers and onions (great with grilled sausage, chicken, or on top of a famous Italian Hot Dog).

Yukon gold potatoes, fresh garlic, yellow Corno di Toro pepper, green Ace bell, fresh picked herbs and, of course, the Limo chile. (100% organic).

Give this pepper to civilians?

Sure, but then there would be less for yourself.  Although these peppers are “habanero type”, they are not as hot as habaneros and can be handled by a greater percentage of the population than a typical hab or scotch bonnet.  If cooking a meal for friends using the Limo chile, remove the seeds and spine, which will make a big difference in the heat of your dish.  If you’re a chili-head, keep the seeds and spine in for a great spice level and unique flavor of the Peruvian coast.  For a great pork tacos recipe using the Limo chile, click here.

See you on Sunday for “Just the Tip”

For more PEPPERMEISTER’s Pepper Profiles visit….

