Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

If you're in a marinde slump, this mixture is guaranteed to get your mojo back.

After making two lackluster dinners in a row, I needed to get back my kitchen mojo (a.k.a. my spicy swagger, a.k.a. my pepper prowess). I had a small pork roast trimmed and ready to bathe in a concoction of flames and flavors (flam-vors?), but I was having trust issues with my pallet and I knew I needed something time-tested.  I looked to the cookbooks in the kitchen for inspiration but I found nothing.  Then, I remembered it.

There’s a binder where my wife keeps all of her most trusted recipes.  I only have one recipe in there that I have deemed “binder-worthy” called “Mojo Marinade” (pronounced mo-ho) that was given to me by my friend, Kelly.  I’ve made a few adjustments, primarily just to add some bite to it.  The meat that soaks in this mixture will be incredibly tender and dripping with savory and tangy juiciness.  You’re welcome in advance.  Enjoy.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup Olive Oil
6-8 Large Cloves Garlic, thinly sliced crosswise
2 teaspoons Ground Cumin
1/2 cup Lime Juice
1/2 cup Orange Juice  (or grapefruit)
1 1/2 teaspoons Course Salt, or more to taste
1/2 teaspoon Black Pepper
1/2 teaspoon Oregano
1/3 cup chopped Fresh Cilantro
1 chopped Habanero chile
2 sliced Jalapenos or Serrano chiles
Optional:
1/4 cup tequila
Directions:
  • Heat olive oil in a sauce pan with garlic, chile peppers and cumin until garlic becomes tan and fragrant. Do not burn it.
  • Once the garlic is ready, add all of the other ingredients (except cilantro) and bring to a steady boil for 2 minutes.
  • Remove from heat and let cool before adding chopped cilantro.
  • Pour over any meat and marinate for at least 90 minutes.
  • Grill or roast meat and prepare for glory.

Here’s a recipe for Spicy Squash Soup that I cannot wait to try from walkablefeast.

