Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Too little, too late. Jerk plant.

See those beautiful flowers adorning my poblano pepper plants? It’s October and some of my plants think it’s early Summer.  Unfortunately, I cannot allow these flowers to thrive.  Flowers on my pepper plants tell me that more peppers are coming.  As much as I appreciate the gesture, for some of my plants, it’s just too late to expect larger peppers to grow to maturity before the first frost.  Now, these flowers are sucking nutrients from my plants in order to produce fruit that will never be enjoyed.

So, It’s decision time.

The flower picture above belongs to my Ancho 101 poblano plant, that I purchased from Cross Country Nurseries in Stockton, NJ.  Poblano chiles are generally the size of a medium bell pepper, so I know there is no chance that this flower will mature to a full sized chile before temperatures drop.  It’s time to pluck these flowers and any small buds on the plants that produce large fruit.  Doing so will keep the nutrients in your soil directed towards the ripening fruit and will give you quality results.

Want hundreds of peppers? Grow one Sport chile plant.

What about the smaller chiles?

Those flowers directly above are on my Sport chile plant.  Those flowers will live to see another day.  The Sport chile plant produces hundreds of green pods (about 1 1/2 inches long) and I have no doubt those flowers will result in dozens more before the first frost comes and deprives my family of spicy nourishment.  If you have Thai chiles, pequin type or any other small peppers that are showing flowers, you can leave them as they take much less time to mature and you could reasonably expect more chiles from those plants.

Check out this recipe for Lentil and Kidney Bean Chili at FrugalFeeding.

