Tags

, , , , ,

It was a long (not so cold) winter, and I could not be more excited to get this growing season started.  The seed giveaway contest ended weeks ago and I sent out literally 1000 seeds!  I’ve already gotten some seedling pics from some folks.  Please continue to keep me posted.

I started my pepper seeds early last month, but the majority of my pepper plants for this season will be purchased as seedlings from Cross Country Nurseries in Stockton, NJ.  They officially open this Saturday (April 14th) and my buddy, Tom and I are all set to spend the morning fishing for lake trout and the afternoon fishing for exotic chiles from Cross Country’s giant greenhouse filled with healthy pepper seedlings, basil plants, tomatoes and more!

The only chiles I will be growing from seed this year are Limo, Corno di Toro, Bhut Jolokia, Pumpkin Hab, Alma Paprika, Las Cruces and Aji Amarillo.  For the first time, I am using a seed starting medium made from organic coconut fibers.  So far I really like the results but I will be posting a full review of the product in a few weeks when I’ve seen what it can do.

Over the next few weeks, I plan to purchase over 20 25 30 35 different chile plants from the nursery, so I will keep you updated.

Stay posted to Peppermeister for tons of chile growing info, recipes, gardening tips and giveaways.

Move over Jiffy mix, this year I'm going with coconut fibers.

Follow me on Twitter @Peppermeister1

