Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Photo Credit: badtzmarucy831.wordpress.com

I’m not going to lie.

I don’t LOVE every pepper in my garden.  For instance, the Biker Billy jalapeno I’m growing is way too hot.  I love hot chiles, I enjoy habaneros, scotch bonnets, thai dragons, etc. but, when I want a jalapeno, I expect jalapeno heat and this chile ended up taking away from the fresh and milder flavor one would traditionally expect from a jalapeno and replaced it with a kung-fu assault on my taste buds (not recommended as a gift to civilians).

Even my beloved Ancho 101 poblanos, which have made a nice life for themselves in my self watering container, are a bit too floral for my liking and disappointed as a stuffed chile (when merely baked).  Then I fire-roasted them and I realized what the Ancho 101 is all about.

Just Add Fire.

If you haven’t realized by now, green chiles and ripe red chiles from the same plant will have different tastes and heat levels.  The same can be said for chiles that are roasted.  If you take the short amount of time to roast a chile, you will be treated to yet another flavor and heat level from your chile.

If you have a gas stove, you can roast your chiles by holding them over the burner with a pair of tongs, or bionic hands.  If you don’t have a gas stove, that sucks, gas stoves are pretty awesome.  A grill or a carefully watched broiler would have the same flavor enhancing effect.

Check out this easy guide for roasting chiles on any stove at AlliEatFood.com

cosmicchile.com